La Rochelle Yearbook 2022



It has been an exciting and busy year for our Larrie Equestrian Team, which includes riders in a wide variety of disciplines. A number of our riders competed in regular SANESA qualifier competitions, seven of whom qualified for the SANESA Regional Competition. The Larrie Team excelled, with many riders qualifying to represent the Western Cape at the National Competition held at Kyalami, Johannesburg in September. Mizaan Scheepers, Emma Coetzee and Katherine Malan undertook the journey to Gauteng. Emma captained the Western Cape team, with Katharine as vice-captain. Out of all the Western Cape riders who competed at Nationals, Katharine placed 6th, Emma 4th and Mizaan 2nd. Mizaan finished 10th in the country in the individual horse and rider rankings, while La Rochelle placed 12th out of 211 competing high schools. Our team was well-represented at the Equestrian Interschools, hosted by Evergreen Stables at Nelson’s Creek Wine Estate . Ten of our riders

competed in the first leg of the event, the Dressage and Prix Caprilli Show. For Dressage, we had a total of six teams competing, where we placed 1st and 2nd in the Pre-Novice Class, 1st and 4th in the Novice Class, and 1st and 2nd in the Open Class. For Prix Caprilli, we had three teams competing. We placed 5th in the Novice Class and 2nd and 3rd in the Open Class. These results, together with excellent individual rider achievements against nine other schools, resulted in La Rochelle bringing home the winning trophy! In the show jumping leg we once again entered six teams. Our learners competed against eight other schools and fared well in the individual as well as the team events. We not only won the Open class but were also the overall winners of the show. This is the first year that La Rochelle has won BOTH legs of the competition and we could not be more proud. Ka t h a r i n e Ma l a n ( C a p t a i n )

E Q U E S T R I A N FRONT: Jana Burger, Aimée Freeman, Mizaan Scheepers (Vice-Captain), Mrs Tracy Meyer (Co ordinator), Katharine Malan (Captain), Jana Joubert, Jana Jansen van Noordwyk MIDDLE: Caitlin Robinson, Elena Kritzinger BACK: Courtney Kypriotis, Jani Dreyer, Coreli Coetzee, Mishka Bridger, Marli Liebenberg, D R E S S A G E A N D P R I X C A P R I L L I O V E R A L L W I N N I N G T E A M FRONT: Marli Liebenberg, Loren Strauss, Emelda Kirsten, Gia Marais, Inca Rose, Nadia Volschenk BACK: Mizaan Scheepers, Caitlin Robinson, Jana Burger, Emma Coetzee, Jani Dreyer, Rebecca McCarthy Emma Coetzee, Jesslyn Vosloo


Made with FlippingBook - Online Brochure Maker