La Rochelle Yearbook 2022



Af t er two year s o f Cov i d and emp t y s t ad i ums , 2022 was f i na l l y t he year t ha t a l l owed us once aga i n t o have our s choo l cheer and be t here f or t he a t h l e t e s on t he i r race days ! There was no time to waste, as the season started when the school year did. Cillié won the Interhouse Trophy yet again, followed by De Villiers, Murray and Pride. Our hard-working athletes had the privilege of competing at the Top 10 Athletics at the University of Pretoria, and the Twizza Top 15, which was also held in Pretoria just a few days before the school’s main event. The 4G was held at the Dal Josaphat Stadium in Paarl, where our team of seventy-five athletes were placed second overall. Although we did not win, our hearts were overcome with pride, and it became one of the greatest 4G events of which La Rochelle has ever been part. Many of our athletes were selected for the Boland

Athletics Team that competed in the Western Cape Championships in March. Of those girls, Mia Wilson, Cornelia Destroo, Miclynn Africa, Kiera-Lee Abrahams and Adrienne Gallop were included in the Western Cape Team that competed in the South African High School Championships in Germiston. The girls mentioned above, plus one of our talented Daisies, Kylie Basson, took part at the ASA National Championships in Potchefstroom. Kiera-Lee Abrahams obtained a bronze medal with a 5,63m jump in the u/18 Girls Long Jump and Mia Wilson a silver medal with a time of 43,43 seconds in the u/16 Girls 300m Hurdles. We are extremely proud of all our athletes, and I wish them all the best for the fast-approaching 2023 Athletics season! If you believe in yourself and are willing to put in the work, you can achieve anything. Good luck, Larries! Mi l a n Ho r n ( C a p t a i n )

4 M A T H L E T I C S FRONT: Ariana Sassoli, Káru van der Wal, Corin Joseph, Elizabeth Reeder, Tinette le Roux, Caroline Noyce, Milan Horn (Captain), Mrs Marianna Schoeman (Team Manager), Adrienne Gallop (Vice Captain), Ivy-Ann Oates, Zoë de Roubaix, Marné Jansen van Vuuren, Shamira Titus, Megan Koch, Ané Viljoen 2ND ROW: Kylie Basson, Jade Atkins, Allison van Wyk, Meakuh Cupido, Elizabeth Rademeyer, Skyler Riddles, Aimeé Freeman, Gretha du Toit, Cassidy Crousster, Brie September, Nina Carstens, Gabriella Costa 3RD ROW: Leyla Wagner, Kathleen Dell, Jani Snyders, Remi Borel-Saladin, Jody James, Késha October, Reechia Valentyn, Mari van Tonder, Gabrielle Witbooi, Miclynn Africa, Carmen Vervaart, Johré Blommetjies, Julia Freeman, Emily Williams, Mia Venter 4TH ROW: Lené van Graan, Zenade October, Cara Wilson, Zoë Malherbe, Aninka Muller, Lize-Mari Beukes, Nina Scheepers, Kiera-Lee Abrahams, Danika Smuts, Lerushkah du Plooy, Katharine Malan, Mia Wilson, Cadey Becker, Cassandra Malgas BACK: Debbie Smith, Monique Engelbrecht, Ilke de Villiers, Cornelia Destroo, Ine le Roux, Mila Devine, Amelie Pelham, Amber-Leigh Witbooi, Thabisa Yekani, Mienke du Toit, Emma Kriel, Imke Engelbrecht, Cyann Willcock, Mia-Mickay Steenkamp, Helen Prinsloo


Made with FlippingBook - Online Brochure Maker