Shiraz SA Challenge 2018



2018’s BRIGHTEST SHIRAZ STARS Shiraz’s popularity amongst wine lovers is not to be doubted and the diversity of styles on offer by wine makers ensure that every taste is catered for. The Shiraz Challenge, this year presented by Shiraz SA for the 6th time, serves as a trustworthy compass for consumers when wanting to buy SA’s top Shiraz. This year, three Shiraz blends and twelve Shiraz stole the limelight. AND THE WINNERS ARE ... The winning Shiraz wines for 2018 were announced on Wednesday 30 May at Rhebokskloof following a tasting of the 25 Shiraz and 10 blend finalists. 2018 TOP SHIRAZ TITLE: Alvi’s Drift Signature Shiraz 2016 Babylonstoren Shiraz 2016 Bloemendal Syrah 2013

Boschkloof Louis 57 Shiraz 2016 D’Aria The Soprano Shiraz 2016, De Grendel Elim Shiraz 2016 (1,5ℓ magnum) Diemersfontein Shiraz 2017 Eagles’ Nest Shiraz 2015 KWV Cathedral Cellar Shiraz 2015 Oldenburg Vineyards Syrah 2014 Saronsberg Provenance Shiraz 2016 Wellington La Cave Shiraz 2016


Babylonstoren Babel 2016 Saronsberg Full Circle 2016 Spier Creative Block 3 2015

BRAND NEW JUDGING PROCESS According to panel chairperson Dr Andy Roediger (Cape Wine Master and chairperson for the past five years) palate fatigue can be a wine judge’s biggest enemy, especially when tasting a large selection of wines in the same category. “In addition, when using a set order for a tasting, an absolute winner can completely overshadow a fine wine following it, giving it an unfair advantage,” he explains. “For these reasons we implemented a new tasting format (developed in conjunction with the University of Stellenbosch) with good results. Previously the panel tasted a few wines and discussed them. This year there were no discussion in between judging sets and every judge had a unique order of wines to be tasted, resulting in a more objective outcome.”


Made with FlippingBook flipbook maker